Tarot Cards Meaning: Major and Minor Arcana Explained

Welcome to the mystical world of Tarot! Whether you're a seasoned reader or a curious newcomer, understanding the meanings behind Tarot cards can unlock profound wisdom and illuminate your path. Each Tarot card in any deck possesses its unique meaning. In order to understand the messages each card holds and what they are trying to tell you, you need to know exactly what each card means. A Tarot deck is made up of 78 unique cards and is divided into two major groups: the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana.

The Major Arcana Cards

The Major Arcana Tarot cards unfold secret messages about the broad view of one's life and its long-term or short-term direction or advice. Think of it as a journey of discovery and innocence culminating with deep knowledge and great achievements.

The Major Arcana is composed of 22 cards, namely:

  1. The Fool
  2. The Magician
  3. The High Priestess
  4. The Empress
  5. The Emperor
  6. The Hierophant
  7. The Lovers
  8. The Chariot
  9. Strength
  10. The Hermit
  11. Wheel of Fortune
  12. Justice
  13. The Hanged Man
  14. Death
  15. Temperance
  16. The Devil
  17. The Tower
  18. The Star
  19. The Moon
  20. The Sun
  21. Judgment
  22. The World

The Minor Arcana Cards

The Minor Arcana Tarot cards are all about taking action and invention, they can help guide someone through life warning when it is time to take hold. The Minor Arcana Tarot cards are divided into four suits, the Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles, each one formed by 10 numbered cards, followed by the Page, Knight, Queen, and King. The total of Minor Arcana cards is 56.

The Wands Suit cards

  1. Ace of Wands
  2. Two of Wands
  3. Three of Wands
  4. Four of Wands
  5. Five of Wands
  6. Six of Wands
  7. Seven of Wands
  8. Eight of Wands
  9. Nine of Wands
  10. Ten of Wands
  11. Page of Wands
  12. Knight of Wands
  13. Queen of Wands
  14. King of Wands

Next, on the Minor Arcana cards, we have the Cups suit, cups, with the water elements representing emotions and intuition. This suit can guide one in love-related matters while helping one understand feelings.

The Cups Suit cards

  1. Ace of Cups
  2. Two of Cups
  3. Three of Cups
  4. Four of Cups
  5. Five of Cups
  6. Six of Cups
  7. Seven of Cups
  8. Eight of Cups
  9. Nine of Cups
  10. Ten of Cups
  11. Page of Cups
  12. Knight of Cups
  13. Queen of Cups
  14. King of Cups

Subsequent, on the Minor Arcana cards, we have the Swords suit, this suit with the representation of sharp blades is all about life challenges. Posting out when someone will get involved in a conflict helps me be prepared and strong to face these new challenges.

The Swords Suit cards

  1. Ace of Swords
  2. Two of Swords
  3. Three of Swords
  4. Four of Swords
  5. Five of Swords
  6. Six of Swords
  7. Seven of Swords
  8. Eight of Swords
  9. Nine of Swords
  10. Ten of Swords
  11. Page of Swords
  12. Knight of Swords
  13. Queen of Swords
  14. King of Swords

Ultimately, on the Minor Arcana cards, we have the Pentacles suit, the Pentacle cards symbolize work, finances, and domestic life, and they can answer burning questions on these life areas, and advice on achieving personal related goals, like money and family.

The Pentacles Suit cards

  1. Ace of Pentacles
  2. Two of Pentacles
  3. Three of Pentacles
  4. Four of Pentacles
  5. Five of Pentacles
  6. Six of Pentacles
  7. Seven of Pentacles
  8. Eight of Pentacles
  9. Nine of Pentacles
  10. Ten of Pentacles
  11. Page of Pentacles
  12. Knight of Pentacles
  13. Queen of Pentacles
  14. King of Pentacles

If you are interested in learning all about Tarot cards, Tarot Reading, cards' meanings, and how to do psychic readings, take a look at the new Vanessa Somuayina Tarot course: How To Become A Great Tarot Reader, with precious insights from the renown Tarot Reader Vanessa Somuayina and discover all this course as to offer! The course is designed for self-paced learning, with lifetime access for reviewing and downloading all materials.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published