What are chakras?

If you follow spiritual practices you certainly have heard about the Chakras and their part in the energy flow and balance of the body, mind, and spirit.

Chakras are energy centers that flow through the body. The name "Chakra" comes from the Sanskrit word for wheel referring to the energy spinning or flowing in the body. They are also storage places for energy forces.

Each chakra vibrates at a unique frequency and color. The energy flows between them, so when one is blocked or out of balance it may influence the others and this affects the general well-being, physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

When outbalanced, any chakra can cause health problems, illness, emotional ordeals. So, how to deal when they are stagnant, blocked, or too open? Luckily we have plenty of options to address this, from the use of crystals, meditation, yoga, to reiki.

Seven main chakras run through the spine, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head:

Root - I am safe and sound

The root chakra is at the base of the spine, and as the name indicates it's the first chakra, the foundation, and it's responsible for stability and security that is one of our most basic needs. The color is red.

Sacral - I feel

This is the second chakra, and it sits around the belly button. It's responsible for prosperity, emotions, creativity, intimacy, and sexuality, building another baseline of our primary needs. And vibrates orange.

Solar Plexus - I do

The third chakra is found near the sternum and it's related to self-esteem, confidence, and power. The color is yellow that recalls the sun, light, and energy.

Heart - I love

The fourth chakra, positioned in the center of the chest and it speaks to compassion, unconditional love, forgiveness, kindness, and healing. Vibrates green.

Throat - I speak

The throat and fifth chakra are located on the neck area, which relates to communication, self-expression, and speaking the truth. Color blue. 

Third Eye - I see

Located in the middle of the forehead, this is the sixth chakra, associated with intuition and intellect. The color is indigo.

Crown - I understand

And finally, the top chakra that is the seventh and last of the main chakras, is located at the top of the head and corresponds to the higher self, enlightenment, and the divine. Vibrates white or purple.

To balance unstable chakras, there are a few things that you can do:

Meditation - By focusing on the chakra area and visualizing it in the corresponding color, radiating energy.

Crystals - By choosing a crystal with the equal chakra color and placing it on where it is located. If you are a crystal lover, check out this stunning mala necklace with stones for all seven chakras.

Yoga, Reiki, and sound therapy - Search for professionals for help.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published